Department Info


To Protect and Serve the Citizens of Greene County, Tennessee To enforce the Laws of the State of Tennessee To Uphold the Constitution of The United States To Maintain the highest standard of Ethical Conduct and Integrity.


Greene County, Tennessee is the third largest county in the State and currently has a population of 68,819 with 15,024 living inside the city limits. There are 615 square miles within Greene County and 1,210 miles of roadways in Greene County.


The Greene County Sheriff's Department Sheriff- Pat Hankins, Chief Deputy-Ray Allen, Detective Captain Jeff Morgan and Administrative Captain Wesley Holt. The Greene County Sheriff's Department Personnel consists of one hundred and fifty eight full time employees, fifteen part-time employees and thirteen auxiliary deputies.

Of the one hundred fifty eight full time employees sixty-seven are assigned to the "Sheriff's Department" and ninty one are assigned to the "Detention Center" Patrol- The patrol division currently consists of thirty-six uniformed officers assigned to "routine patrol" There are four shifts with nine officers on a shift. Four uniformed officers are assigned to the Warrant Division and serve arrest warrants. There are three officers who serve civil process papers. The department has one Training Officer. Some officers are assigned to  the "Third Judicial Drug Task Force". Other officers work in records and dispatch.